What are some of the Public Holidays in India in 2022?

Introduction: What is a public holiday and what does it mean to have a public holiday on our calendar?

public holiday, indian public holidays, 2022 india holidays

This is because Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government had presented a full budget for the year 2022-23. This includes a proposal for a public holiday on August 15, 2022.

A public holiday is an official day that is non-working day in the country or region. In India, people celebrate many different holidays that are either religious festivals or national holidays as part of the Independence Day celebrations. For example, on August 15th, 16th and 17th of every year, people celebrate Independence Day to commemorate the Indian Independence from British Rule in 1947. As per announcements made in July 2018 from PM Narendra Modi’s BJP government, this Independence Day celebration will be followed by a public holiday on August 15th in 2022 as well!

What are the National and Popular Public Holidays in India by Year?

2022 india holidays,public holiday 2022 india,2022 india holidays

India is a very diverse country with people of different religions and cultures. India celebrates both national and popular public holidays, which are based on the region, religion or culture.

National holidays in India can vary from state to state. For example, in Maharashtra, Diwali is celebrated as a national holiday while in Tamil Nadu it is not.

Popular public holidays are observed by many people irrespective of their religion or culture. These include New Year’s day (January 1), The Republic Day (January 26), Maha Shivratri (February 13) and Holi (March 1).

Conclusion: The Complete List of Indian Public Holidays

We hope you have found this list of public holidays in India for the year 2022 helpful. For more information on Indian holidays, check out our blog post “Indian Public Holidays You Should Know

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday January 1, 2022 Kagyed Dance
Saturday January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day
Sunday January 2, 2022 Mannam Jayanthi
Monday January 3, 2022 New Year Celebration
Monday January 3, 2022 Losoong/Namsoong
Tuesday January 4, 2022 Losoong/Namsoong
Wednesday January 5, 2022 Losoong/Namsoong
Thursday January 6, 2022 Assam Special Holiday
Thursday January 6, 2022 Losoong/Namsoong
Friday January 7, 2022 Assam Special Holiday
Friday January 7, 2022 Losoong/Namsoong
Sunday January 9, 2022 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
Tuesday January 11, 2022 Missionary Day
Wednesday January 12, 2022 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda
Friday January 14, 2022 Imoinu Iratpa
Friday January 14, 2022 Sankranti
Friday January 14, 2022 Bhogi
Friday January 14, 2022 Pongal
Friday January 14, 2022 Tusu Puja
Saturday January 15, 2022 Gann-Ngai
Saturday January 15, 2022 Sankranti
Saturday January 15, 2022 Kanuma
Saturday January 15, 2022 Thiruvalluvar Day
Sunday January 16, 2022 Uzhavar Tirunal
Monday January 17, 2022 Public Holiday (in lieu)
Tuesday January 18, 2022 Thaipoosam
Sunday January 23, 2022 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti
Tuesday January 25, 2022 Statehood Day
Tuesday January 25, 2022 Gothar Bathou Sun
Wednesday January 26, 2022 Republic Day
Monday January 31, 2022 Me-dam-me-phi
Wednesday February 2, 2022 Sonam Lhosar
Saturday February 5, 2022 Vasant Panchami
Monday February 7, 2022 Lata Mangeshkar Mourning
Monday February 14, 2022 Public Holiday
Monday February 14, 2022 Uttarakhand Public Holiday
Tuesday February 15, 2022 Imam Ali’s Birthday
Tuesday February 15, 2022 Lui-Ngai-Ni
Wednesday February 16, 2022 Bir Chilarai Divas
Wednesday February 16, 2022 Guru Ravidas Jayanti
Sunday February 20, 2022 Statehood Day
Sunday February 20, 2022 Mizoram State Day
Tuesday March 1, 2022 Shab-I-Miraj
Tuesday March 1, 2022 Maha Shivratri
Tuesday March 1, 2022 Maha Shivratri
Thursday March 3, 2022 Losar
Friday March 4, 2022 Chapchar Kut
Saturday March 5, 2022 Panchayati Raj Diwas
Thursday March 17, 2022 Holi Dahan
Friday March 18, 2022 Yaosang
Friday March 18, 2022 Holi
Friday March 18, 2022 Holi Dahan
Friday March 18, 2022 Doljatra
Saturday March 19, 2022 Holi Holiday
Saturday March 19, 2022 Holi
Saturday March 19, 2022 Yaosang 2nd Day
Monday March 21, 2022 Nauroz
Tuesday March 22, 2022 Bihar Divas
Wednesday March 23, 2022 Shaheedi Diwas
Monday March 28, 2022 Bakth Matha Karma Jayanthi
Friday April 1, 2022 Bank Holiday
Friday April 1, 2022 Odisha Day
Saturday April 2, 2022 Ugadi
Saturday April 2, 2022 Gudi Padwa
Saturday April 2, 2022 Sajibu Nongma Panba
Saturday April 2, 2022 1st Navratra
Saturday April 2, 2022 Gudi Padwa
Monday April 4, 2022 Sarhul
Tuesday April 5, 2022 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday
Friday April 8, 2022 Birthday of Sri Guru Nabha Dass Ji
Sunday April 10, 2022 Ram Navami
Thursday April 14, 2022 Biju Festival
Thursday April 14, 2022 Bohag Bihu
Thursday April 14, 2022 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
Thursday April 14, 2022 Mahavir Jayanti
Thursday April 14, 2022 Tamil New Year
Thursday April 14, 2022 Mahabishuba Sankranti
Thursday April 14, 2022 Bohag Bihu
Thursday April 14, 2022 Cheiraoba
Thursday April 14, 2022 Maundy Thursday
Thursday April 14, 2022 Vaisakhi
Friday April 15, 2022 Bohag Bihu
Friday April 15, 2022 Bengali New Year
Friday April 15, 2022 Vishu
Friday April 15, 2022 Himachal Day
Friday April 15, 2022 Good Friday
Saturday April 16, 2022 Bohag Bihu
Sunday April 17, 2022 Easter
Thursday April 21, 2022 Sati Sadhani Divas
Saturday April 23, 2022 Khongjom Day
Saturday April 23, 2022 Veer Kunvar Singh Jayanti
Saturday April 23, 2022 Garia Puja
Friday April 29, 2022 Jumatul Bidah
Sunday May 1, 2022 Maharashtra Day
Sunday May 1, 2022 Labour Day
Monday May 2, 2022 Id-ul-Fitr
Tuesday May 3, 2022 Idul Fitr
Tuesday May 3, 2022 Parashurama Jayanti
Tuesday May 3, 2022 Basava Jayanthi
Wednesday May 4, 2022 Following Day Of Ramzan
Saturday May 7, 2022 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore
Monday May 9, 2022 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore
Monday May 16, 2022 Sikkim State Day
Monday May 16, 2022 Buddha Purnima
Tuesday May 17, 2022 Janmotsav of Sri Sri Madhav Dev
Wednesday May 25, 2022 Birthday of Kazi Nazrul Islam
Monday May 30, 2022 Savitri Amavasya
Thursday June 2, 2022 Maharana Pratap Jayanti
Friday June 3, 2022 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji
Thursday June 9, 2022 Birsa Munda Shahidi Diwas
Tuesday June 14, 2022 Pahili Raja
Tuesday June 14, 2022 Saga Dawa
Tuesday June 14, 2022 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti
Wednesday June 15, 2022 Guru Hargobind Ji’s Birthday
Wednesday June 15, 2022 Raja Sankranti
Wednesday June 15, 2022 YMA Day
Wednesday June 22, 2022 Kharchi Puja
Thursday June 30, 2022 Remna Ni
Wednesday July 6, 2022 Ker Puja
Wednesday July 6, 2022 MHIP Day
Saturday July 9, 2022 Id-ul-Ad’ha
Sunday July 10, 2022 Bakrid
Monday July 11, 2022 Eid-ul-Azha Holiday
Thursday July 14, 2022 Behdienkhlam
Saturday July 16, 2022 Harela
Sunday July 17, 2022 U Tirot Sing Day
Monday July 25, 2022 Bonalu
Thursday July 28, 2022 Hareli
Thursday July 28, 2022 Karkidaka Vavu
Sunday July 31, 2022 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh
Monday August 1, 2022 Drukpa Tsheshi
Monday August 8, 2022 Ashura
Tuesday August 9, 2022 Adivasi Divas
Tuesday August 9, 2022 Ashura
Thursday August 11, 2022 Raksha Bandhan
Thursday August 11, 2022 Jhulan Purnima
Saturday August 13, 2022 Patriot’s Day
Monday August 15, 2022 Independence Day
Tuesday August 16, 2022 De jure Transfer Day
Tuesday August 16, 2022 Parsi New Year
Thursday August 18, 2022 Janmashtami
Friday August 19, 2022 Janmashtami
Saturday August 20, 2022 Sri Krishna Astami
Sunday August 28, 2022 Ayyankali Jayanthi
Tuesday August 30, 2022 Harithalika
Wednesday August 31, 2022 Ganesh Chaturthi
Wednesday August 31, 2022 Ganesh Chaturthi
Wednesday August 31, 2022 Vinayagar Chathurthi
Thursday September 1, 2022 Ganesh Chaturthi (2nd Day) Holiday
Thursday September 1, 2022 Nuakhai
Monday September 5, 2022 Ramdev Jayanti and Teja Dashmi
Tuesday September 6, 2022 Karam Puja
Wednesday September 7, 2022 First Onam
Thursday September 8, 2022 Thiruvonam
Friday September 9, 2022 Third Onam
Saturday September 10, 2022 Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti
Saturday September 10, 2022 Fourth Onam
Wednesday September 14, 2022 Tithi of Sri Sri Madhav Dev
Saturday September 17, 2022 Vishvakarma Day
Wednesday September 21, 2022 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi
Friday September 23, 2022 Haryana Heroes’ Martyrdom Day
Sunday September 25, 2022 Mahalaya
Sunday September 25, 2022 Bathukamma Starting Day
Monday September 26, 2022 Mera Chaoren Houba
Monday September 26, 2022 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti
Monday September 26, 2022 Agarsain Jayanti
Sunday October 2, 2022 Maha Saptami
Sunday October 2, 2022 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday
Monday October 3, 2022 Durga Ashtami
Tuesday October 4, 2022 Navami of Durga Puja
Tuesday October 4, 2022 Nabami
Tuesday October 4, 2022 Ayudha Puja
Tuesday October 4, 2022 Durga Puja
Wednesday October 5, 2022 Janmostav of Srimatna Sankardev
Wednesday October 5, 2022 Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 5, 2022 Dussehra
Wednesday October 5, 2022 Durga Puja
Thursday October 6, 2022 Following Day of Vijaya Dasami Holiday
Saturday October 8, 2022 Mawlid
Sunday October 9, 2022 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday
Sunday October 9, 2022 Mawlid
Sunday October 9, 2022 Lakshmi Puja
Friday October 14, 2022 Friday after Eid e-Milad-un Nabi
Tuesday October 18, 2022 Kati Bihu
Monday October 24, 2022 Kali Puja
Monday October 24, 2022 Narak Chaturdashi
Monday October 24, 2022 Diwali
Tuesday October 25, 2022 Govardhan Puja
Tuesday October 25, 2022 Vishvakarma Day
Tuesday October 25, 2022 Bhai Bij
Tuesday October 25, 2022 Vishvakarma Day
Tuesday October 25, 2022 Diwali
Wednesday October 26, 2022 Vikram Samvat New Year
Wednesday October 26, 2022 Bhai Bij
Wednesday October 26, 2022 Accession Day
Wednesday October 26, 2022 Diwali
Wednesday October 26, 2022 Diwali
Thursday October 27, 2022 Ningol Chakkouba
Sunday October 30, 2022 Chhath Puja
Monday October 31, 2022 Sardar Patel’s Birthday
Monday October 31, 2022 Chhath Puja Holiday
Tuesday November 1, 2022 Haryana Day
Tuesday November 1, 2022 Kannada Rajyothsava
Tuesday November 1, 2022 Puducherry Liberation Day
Tuesday November 1, 2022 Kut
Tuesday November 8, 2022 Guru Nanak’s Birthday
Tuesday November 8, 2022 Rasa Purnima
Friday November 11, 2022 Kanakadasa Jayanthi
Tuesday November 15, 2022 Birsa Munda Birth Anniversary
Wednesday November 23, 2022 Seng Kut Snem
Thursday November 24, 2022 Lachit Divas
Thursday November 24, 2022 Martyrdom of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
Monday November 28, 2022 Martyrdom of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
Thursday December 1, 2022 State Inauguration Day
Thursday December 1, 2022 Indigenous Faith Day
Friday December 2, 2022 Asom Divas
Saturday December 3, 2022 World Disabled Day
Saturday December 3, 2022 Feast of St. Francis Xavier
Monday December 12, 2022 Pa Togan Nengminza Sangma
Sunday December 18, 2022 Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham
Sunday December 18, 2022 Guru Ghasidas Jayanti
Monday December 19, 2022 Goa Liberation Day
Saturday December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve
Sunday December 25, 2022 Christmas Day
Monday December 26, 2022 Christmas Holiday
Monday December 26, 2022 Christmas Holiday
Monday December 26, 2022 Boxing Day
Tuesday December 27, 2022 Christmas Holiday
Tuesday December 27, 2022 Christmas Festival
Wednesday December 28, 2022 Christmas Holiday
Thursday December 29, 2022 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
Thursday December 29, 2022 Christmas Holiday
Friday December 30, 2022 Christmas Holiday
Friday December 30, 2022 Tamu Lhosar
Friday December 30, 2022 U Kiang Nangbah
Saturday December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve
Saturday December 31, 2022 Christmas Holiday

This article has been created to provide you with a list of all the public holidays in India for the year 2022. This list also includes upcoming world holidays that are celebrated around the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.